top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrett Norton

Career Choices

As I went through this internship and spoke with Mr. Greene about the requirements with becoming a FIBA agent, I decided to attempt to begin my career as an NFLPA vs FIBA agent. Even though my internship was with basketball, I opted for football because Columbia, MO is one hour down the road and usually puts a few players in the league each year. I think if I can somehow make connections, I would be able to pickup some players. This decision was a tough one for me because my entire internship was with basketball and allowed me to gain confidence when working with federations. It was also tough because I recently accepted a position coaching high school basketball, so all my time will be spent on the basketball court. I think I will still have plenty of time to scout prospective players, but the competitive nature of basketball and the lax requirements were one of the reasons I opted for football. Even though I decided to choose football, this experience will still translate to the NFLPA because it gave me confidence and showed me how to market players. A lot of players get their opportunity from being a stand out, knowing someone, or being marketed properly. I feel this internship will give me the competitive advantage I need.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Increasing Opportunities

Earlier, I wrote about the Hart Tournament and how it helped Deshaun gain exposure in the middle of my internship. Although, it was a positive result and a very good opportunity for him to gain exposu

Creating a Canvas

One of the programs I used was Canvas. Canvas has a lot of different options designed to create appealing materials for industry experts. One of the features of canvas I used was creating a poster or

Out of my Shell

One of the things I had to learn was to be more extroverted in communicating. There were a lot of times I had to call a team or organization I had never worked with and sell Deshaun to the organizatio

bottom of page