top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrett Norton

Increasing Opportunities

Earlier, I wrote about the Hart Tournament and how it helped Deshaun gain exposure in the middle of my internship. Although, it was a positive result and a very good opportunity for him to gain exposure, it proved how hard it was to break into basketball. There were a lot of athletes there trying to get their foot in the door. If an athlete did not score 40 points, make a sensational play, or do something to separate themselves from the pack, they probably were not offered an opportunity. There are a lot of great athletes which go unsigned and never get the chance to play sports at the next level. As I was talking with executives, and trying to market Deshaun, I found out how competitive it could be. The NBA only accepts 60 new players each year through the draft, and making it as an undrafted rookie is very tough. As a player gets older, the chances of them making it professionally significantly shrinks. COVID also took away a lot of opportunities because no one was hosting tryouts, the NBA combine did not take place, and teams were real weary of who they brought into the facility. As solutions for COVID are made available, it will be important to see if opportunities for players like Deshaun will develop or not. There is definitely a need for more tournaments like the Hart tournaments and increased exposure to overseas basketball in the United States.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creating a Canvas

One of the programs I used was Canvas. Canvas has a lot of different options designed to create appealing materials for industry experts. One of the features of canvas I used was creating a poster or

Career Choices

As I went through this internship and spoke with Mr. Greene about the requirements with becoming a FIBA agent, I decided to attempt to begin my career as an NFLPA vs FIBA agent. Even though my interns

Out of my Shell

One of the things I had to learn was to be more extroverted in communicating. There were a lot of times I had to call a team or organization I had never worked with and sell Deshaun to the organizatio

bottom of page