top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrett Norton

Out of my Shell

One of the things I had to learn was to be more extroverted in communicating. There were a lot of times I had to call a team or organization I had never worked with and sell Deshaun to the organization. This was definitely a challenge for me, but it was one of the benefits of having to do an internship. This type of experience will allow me when I start my career as a player agent. Even if one is an introvert, there is no limitations on them becoming an agent, they just need to understand the requirements might take them a little out of their comfort zone. Another thing to keep in mind is customs and courtesies in other countries. Since agents deal with the International Basketball Association, at some point in time they will have to talk with foreign federations. My time in the Army and attending different cultural classes definitely were an asset when it came to communicating with them. The best practice is to remain professional and avoid the use of slang words which have become accustomed in America. One might never know what call or email is the one which actually attracts an organization to a specific player.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Increasing Opportunities

Earlier, I wrote about the Hart Tournament and how it helped Deshaun gain exposure in the middle of my internship. Although, it was a positive result and a very good opportunity for him to gain exposu

Creating a Canvas

One of the programs I used was Canvas. Canvas has a lot of different options designed to create appealing materials for industry experts. One of the features of canvas I used was creating a poster or

Career Choices

As I went through this internship and spoke with Mr. Greene about the requirements with becoming a FIBA agent, I decided to attempt to begin my career as an NFLPA vs FIBA agent. Even though my interns

bottom of page